Baked banana donuts

I had a tooth operation last week and I barely couldn’t eat (I still have stitches). Believe me I have craved a lot and on Monday I decided to bake a very delicious German cake that I will post soon…and today I realized that there’s nothing left… Thinking about what I could turn into a new favourite treat I had the brilliant idea of baking banana donuts! I have been feeling like making this in the last months but I never did it (been very busy). Well, finally I have made them and I am so proud of myself because they look gorgeous and are full of flavour. These are not fried donuts (I don’t have a deep-fryer, but I don’t miss one); they are way much healthier than those from the supermarket.

Please get a donut form; you don’t know what you are missing! This is becoming a new trend; more and more people are getting aware about the ingredients in the sweeties they eat. I don’t bother, I don’t buy anything from bakeries anymore, and it is much more fun to do your own goodies. Today my afternoon is a quiet one, I will prepare a coffee and I will grab a couple of donuts and I will enjoy them watching an episode of my series.

This recipe belongs to the speechless blog.

INGREDIENTS

Donuts

  • ¾ cup plus one more tablespoon of all-purpose flour
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ cup of plus one more tablespoon of white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons sunflower oil
  • 1 normal size egg
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 tablespoon full fat yogurt

Frosting

  • 60 g dark chocolate
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 teaspoon water

STEPS

In a small bowl mix the sugar with the egg until creamy. Using a mixer combine them for 3 minutes. Then add the banana (smashed), yogurt and oil. Again mix them well.

The rest of the ingredients will be in a second bowl. Toss the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon. Combine them.

Fold in the dry ingredients with the wet ones. Do NOT over mix.

Prepare your donut form, apply butter on it slightly and proceed to fill it carefully. I used a spoon and a spatula; you can use what you think it is the easiest for you.

donucito

The oven should be preheated before putting the donuts inside. I turned the oven to 200 º C and I lowered it to 180 º C. My donuts were inside for 10 minutes and they looked golden and gorgeous.

donucito1

I opened the door of the oven and I let them cool down. When they were touchable, I placed them on a plate and I started preparing the chocolate frosting.

To do the frosting is as easy as making the donuts. I took a pot and I filled it with water (but only a bit) then I put a big and wide mug with the chocolate inside. You will heat the pot until your chocolate melts. This is a very important part because you need to watch the chocolate. When it starts melting stir it with a spoon and do not let it burn. Add the butter and the teaspoon of water. Mix them well and you are ready to use the frosting for the donuts. This frosting is amazing because the chocolate becomes solid when it cools down and that is what I wanted.

donucito2

This is the moment for your imagination. I dunked my donuts just on one side and I decorated them with dark chocolate sprinkles, sugar hearts… You can do whatever you want to, it is up to you! I recommend baking donuts anytime in the week. If you have kids they will love decorating them and of course eating them too.

donucito3donucito4

I hope you like this recipe and write me with any queries! I will be delighted to answer them. I wish you have a nice weekend and enjoy a cup of coffee with donuts! Yummy!

donucito5

You could find another donuts recipe from my blog here.

With love,

Pinkwhisker in the jungle

Leave a Reply

