Vegetarian Flammkuchen

I love flammkuchen so much, that I often cook it on Fridays for dinner. The best of all is that it is easy and you can add any ingredients you like. As I am vegetarian I top it with lots of different vegetables, and it is delicious. I must admit that I used to buy ready-made frozen vegetarian flammkuchen from the supermarket when it was on offer, but since I have found ready dough I prefer to make my own with my own toppings and I don’t want to get the ready one from there anymore. You can always make a better version of it. I encourage you to try this simple recipe, so simple that I was thinking not to post it, but here we go:

INGREDIENTS

  • Flammkuchen dough (you can make it yourself or buy it)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 big pepper
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Chillies (chopped)
  • Grated cheese
  • Spices: oregano, cumin, coriander, white pepper.
  • 110 ml of sour cream
  • Salt

STEPS

Place the flammkuchen base/dough on a board.

Then, prepare the sour cream; you will need a small bowl where you will stir the cream and the spices. Add some salt and white pepper to the cream. Once this is ready, spread it on the flammkuchen dough. After that it is the time for the ingredients of the topping. Cut the vegetables in the size you like the most. Proceed to top your flammkuchen with the chopped vegetables.

IMG_4503flammkflammk1

The last thing I did was adding the grated cheese and more spices.

IMG_4511

Place it in the oven which must have been preheated for 3 minutes at 200 ºC. Lower the temperature of the oven to 180 ºC when you put it inside. Let the flammkuchen inside until it is getting a bit brown, but watch out, it shouldn’t get too brown. The dough should be crunchy.

IMG_4512

Enjoy your meal!

Pinkwhisker loving Fridays

Leave a Reply

