Popeye quiche

Today I have decided to cook a quiche because it is filling and easy to prepare. I feel like it is high time to make something funnier in the kitchen. Therefore I leave out my ordinary dinners and I am making this beauty. Since about one month ago I’ve been feeling like quiche but there has been always something left to be finished. Hence at my place tonight there will be a round and full of flavour quiche. I seriously encourage you, my reader to try this one, you won’t regret it!

A quiche can have anything you have in your kitchen, anything fits, and even you can make it sweet… actually I have one sweet quiche recipe, but I promise that I will post it as soon as possible.

Here we go with the ingredients for this quiche:

  • Puff pastry (I bought it in the supermarket)
  • 2 small red onions
  • 1 red pepper
  • 2 eggs
  • 150 g flavoured cheese cream
  • 800 g frozen spinach (thawed)
  • Salt
  • White and black pepper (spice)
  • Cumin
  • Coriander
  • Grated cheese
  • Cherry tomatoes (optional for decoration)

STEPS

Prepare your round cake tin and slightly spread a bit of butter on it and when you’re done, toss some flour to cover the buttered surface to avoid your quiche from breaking or getting stuck in the cake tin. Then carefully cover it with the puff pastry. Once the base of the quiche is placed beautifully, proceed and with the help of a fork poke the puff pastry. This way you will not let the dough raise and ruin your base.

Now let’s prepare the filling. Chop the onions and the red pepper and cook them on a pan for a couple of minutes. In a sauce pot thaw the frozen spinach. Once you have these ingredients ready, mix them in a bowl and add the cheese cream and the 2 beaten eggs. Season the filling as you like. For this one I added salt, cumin because I love it, coriander and white and black pepper.

IMG_4756IMG_4758

Last step is folding in the filling into the cake tin and top it with grated cheese. It will look like this.

IMG_4760

Preheat the oven at 200 ºC and introduce the quiche in it for at least 30 minutes. The temperature should be at 180 ºC. Try to see if the quiche is ready by introducing a toothpick. The result is amazing; it will be a new favourite I grant it.

Tonight we will enjoy it with a fresh salad as a side. Nom Nom Nom….

quichepiece1

Bon apetit!

Starving Pinkwhisker

Leave a Reply

