Vitamine C mocha cupcake

Dear reader, here I am again to show you an incredible recipe that you will love. The reason I made these cutie cupcakes was because I had mandarins leftover and I had to do something with them… I wanted to try mandarins with dark chocolate because I love the taste and I thought it is about time to experiment and see what happens! I am so happy that I tried it because it is my new favourite and I am sure they will be yours too!

Actually this recipe is a version of this one here. But as I have mentioned I was curious about the tangy and sweet flavour of mandarins… and the outcome was this:

outcome.mandarin

INGREDIENTS

MANDARINS MOCHA CUPCAKE

  • 150g all-purpose flour
  • 35g unsweetened dark cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 110ml milk
  • 3 heaped teaspoons coffee (the one that dissolves in your hot milk, water)
  • 115g butter (softened at room temperature)
  • 60g granulated sugar
  • 60g brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 milka chocolate egg with filling
  • 2 mandarins (blended)

MANDARIN WHITE CHOCOLATE FROSTING

The amount of frosting I present here will be for “4 small cupcakes” (Adapted from this lovely blog)

  • 50g butter (softened at room temperature)
  • 50g icing sugar
  • 20g white chocolate
  • 2 teaspoons of mandarin zest

STEPS FROSTING

I normally start with the topping because I like keeping it in the fridge to have it ready for the cupcakes. I decided to shorten the amounts of the frosting because I don’t like to throw away the frosting and also because it doesn’t take much time to prepare it in case you are craving for it.

First of all, take the butter out of the fridge and let it rest for 10 minutes until it softens at room temperature. Proceed to add the cheese cream in your bowl and combine it with the butter (already softened) using a mixer for 2 minutes. Once it is creamy, fold in the icing sugar and mix for 3 minutes. I personally like sifting it because most of the times the icing sugar has the shape of big blocks and it is just easier to sift it. When the icing sugar is also mixed, melt the white chocolate in the microwave and let it cool down a bit. Add the mandarin zest and the white chocolate and mix for 2 minutes. Keep it in the fridge. If when you take it out to top the cupcakes it is a bit hard, let it rest out of the fridge and it will become creamier.

STEPS CUPCAKE

Get two bowls, one for the wet ingredients and the other for the dry ones. In the first bowl toss the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and cocoa powder. Combine it with a spoon or spatula.

IMG_4518

In the second recipient add the butter (softened at room temperature) and the granulated and brown sugar. Use a mixer and combine them. Then add the egg and mix it well with the other ingredients. Next, prepare the glass of milk and the teaspoons of coffee and stir. Almost done. Now add the milk with the coffee to the batter and combine them with a mixer. Blend the mandarins and mix them. This is optional, but if you want you can add some more melted chocolate to the dough. I melted a chocolate egg with white chocolate filling (a milka chocolate egg) and I also mixed it.

IMG_4519IMG_4515

Now mix carefully the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients. The batter will look like this, very very creamy and you will have to fill the cupcake liners quickly otherwise you will want to eat it from your mixing bowl… I say this by experience!

IMG_4522

Preheat the oven at 170 ºC before you put the cupcakes inside. It will take no more than 15-20 minutes to bake them. When they are baked, open your oven and let them cool down for a couple of minutes. When they are cool enough, top them and decorate them.

IMG_4526

I hope you found my directions helpful and you decide to make them soon. I will be glad to hear from you.

IMG_4551

High five with my feline paw!

Pinkwhisker

Yield: 16 beautiful cupcakes; Difficulty: Easy; Time: 35 minutes

Leave a Reply

