Strawberry donuts (baked)

Hello sweet tooth! Here I am so excited about this wonderful recipe.

I love donuts, and I ordered a donut form to bake my own ones one month ago. Of course you can also make the donuts with a donut cutter. So I could not wait to start the magic in the oven, so I decided to bake these ones based on a recipe from this marvellous blog.

To be fair, I must say that my donuts did not look like the ones in the recipe there. The topping in my donuts did not have that creamy look and the frosting/syrup was a bit liquid. Now I know that I will have to add more icing sugar next time. Learnt!

The recipe is “easy peasy” and you just need to get a few ingredients really… I wanted to try strawberry frosting and I made a strawberry kind of syrup to bathe my donuts. I hope you like this recipe too and start baking them immediately.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 6 tablespoons of white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 4 tablespoons of full fat plain yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons of milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon of unsalted butter (melted)

FROSTING

  • 3 fresh strawberries
  • 1 teaspoon of strawberry jam
  • 1 ½ cups icing sugar (sifted)
  • Colourful sugar, etc (optional decoration)

I suggest starting with the frosting as I keep it in the fridge for some time during the baking and when the donuts are cooled down we can top them straight away. No time to wait!

STEPS FROSTING

Get a recipient and chop the strawberries. Then, blend them and add the jam and icing sugar. Use a mixer to combine everything. Our frosting/syrup is ready for our home made donuts. Keep this frosting in the fridge for a couple of minutes and use it to bathe your donuts

STEPS DONUTS

To make the donuts, grab a mixing bowl and fold in flour, sugar, and baking powder. Mix the ingredients well. Get a second bowl and mix the yogurt, milk, egg and melted butter. Then, mix the wet ingredients with the dry ones.

Our batter is ready for the donut form, get a spoon or what you have at hand and fill the donut form with the dough or place the batter on a surface and use your donut cutter.

donut.upload

Bake for 8-10 minutes until they turn gold and a little brown. When donuts are cooled down, remove from the tray and bathe them with the frosting. I dunked them a few times, but this syrup was a bit runny, though I loved it, you might want to add more icing sugar for the thickness of the frosting, if this happens to you.

IMG_4567

Now the work is done, the fun starts…sprinkle the donuts and prepare a coffee to enjoy them more!

donut.upload1IMG_4571

Yield: 8 donuts; Difficulty: Easy; Time: 25 minutes in total.

Leave a Reply

